Republicans Voted Unanimously to Make Boehner Speaker; 19 Dems Did Not Vote for Pelosi

By Penny Starr | January 5, 2011 | 6:14 PM EST

House Speaker John Boehner of Ohio hugs outgoing House Speaker Nancy Pelosi of Calif. after receiving the gavel during the first session of the 112th Congress, on Capitol Hill in Washington, Wednesday, Jan. 5, 2011. (AP Photo/Charles Dharapak)

( – Rep. John Boehner (R-Ohio) was voted in as speaker of the House by his Republican colleagues on Wednesday, with all 241 Republicans voting in favor of the Ohio legislator and former House minority leader.

Only 173 of 192 Democrats, however, voted to make Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.), speaker once again.  Eighteen Democrats voted against her, and one voted "present."

(Under House rules, each party puts up a candidate to be the next speaker.)

Moderate Democrat Heath Shuler (D-N.C.) received 11 votes for speaker, including his own vote. That's substantially less than the 43 votes Shuler received on Nov. 17, when House Democrats chose their leader in a secret ballot. At that time, Pelosi received 150 votes, enough to retain the leadership of her Democratic caucus.

Shuler announced before the November election that he might challenge the liberal Pelosi for the speakership if his party kept control of the House. He is among the centrist Democrats who want to move their party in a more moderate direction.

The other members who voted for Shuler on Wednesday were Rep. Jason Altmire (D-Pa.), Rep. Dan Boren (D-Okla.), Rep. Jim Cooper (D-Tenn.), Rep. Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.), Rep. Tim Holden (D-Pa.), Rep. Larry Kissell (D-N.C.), Rep. Jim Matheson (D-Utah), Rep. Mike McIntyre (D-N.C.), Rep. Michael Michaud (D-Maine), and Rep. Mike Ross (D-Ark.).

Another seven votes were cast for Democrats other than Pelosi to be speaker of the House. Those votes were as follows:

Rep. John Barrow (D-Ga.) and Rep. Gabrielle Giffords (D-Ariz.) voted for Rep. John Lewis (D-Ga.).

Rep. John Costa (D-Calif.) and Rep. Dennis Cardoza (D-Calif.) voted for each other.

Rep. Ron Kind (D-Wis.) voted for Rep. Jim Cooper (D-Tenn.).

Rep. Daniel Lipinski (D-Ill.) voted for Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-Ohio).

Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-Ore.) voted for Rep. Steny Hoyer (D-Md.)

Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-Ga.) voted “present,” and Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-Ore.) was not present for the vote.

The two members not voting in the election were Boehner and Pelosi.