FLASHBACK: Hillary Clinton on Trump’s Hesitation to Accept Election Results: ‘He Is Denigrating’ Our Democracy

By Penny Starr | January 16, 2017 | 12:46 PM EST

Democratic presidential nominee Hillary Clinton (AP Photo)

(CNSNews.com) – When President-elect Donald Trump said he would keep people “in suspense” about whether or not he would accept the result of the 2016 election in the final televised debate in October, Democratic presidential nominee Hillary Clinton said she thought his answer was “horrifying” and that such remarks were a threat to our democracy.

“I will look at it at the time,” Trump said when asked about accepting the election result by moderator Chris Wallace. “I will keep you in suspense.”

“That’s horrifying,” Clinton replied. “Let’s be clear about what he is saying and what that means. He is denigrating — he is talking down our democracy. And I am appalled that someone who is the nominee of one of our two major parties would take that position.”

In an article covering the remarks, the New York Times pointed out that every losing presidential candidate “in modern times” has accepted the presidential election result.

“Every losing presidential candidate in modern times has accepted the will of the voters, even in extraordinarily close races, such as when John F. Kennedy narrowly defeated Richard M. Nixon in 1960 and George W. Bush beat Al Gore in Florida to win the presidency in 2000,” the Times article said.

Rep. John Lewis (D-Ga.) said on Saturday that he would not attend Trump’s inauguration on Friday, saying that he does not think Trump’s presidency is “legitimate.”

In an interview on NBC’s “Meet the Press,” Lewis was asked about forging a relationship with Trump after he takes office.

Lewis said he believes in forgiveness but added "it's going to be very difficult. I don't see this president-elect as a legitimate president."

Other Democrats who have said they won’t attend the inauguration include: Reps. Lucille Roybal-Allard, Mark Takano, Yvette Clarke, Ted Lieu, Jerrold Nadler, Raul Grijalva, John Conyers, Mark DeSaulnier, Nydia Velazquez, Kurt Schrader, William Lacy Clay, Barbara Lee, Jose Serrano, Judy Chu, Jared Huffman, Luis Gutierrez, Katherine Clark, Earl Blumenauer, Adriano Espaillat, Pramila Jayapal, Mark Pocan, Marcia Fudge, Maxine Waters, and Bonnie Watson Coleman, according to CNN.


Sponsored Links