81 Republicans Flip-Flop on Libya Opposition Votes

By Matt Cover | June 24, 2011 | 5:06pm EDT

U.S. Capitol (AP Photo)

(CNSNews.com) – Eighty-one House Republicans voted both ways on allowing President Barack Obama to continue U.S. military involvement in the NATO-led airstrikes against Libya: They voted against allowing the involvement to continue for one more year and against defunding the same involvement.

The first bill, which would have officially authorized the mission in Libya for one year, failed in a123-295 vote, with all but eight Republicans rejecting the measure. The second vote also failed, with a surprising 89 GOP members voting against House Speaker John Boehner (R-Ohio).

The bill to defund the Libyan involvement had been touted by Boehner as the House’s challenge to President Obama for not seeking congressional authorization and trying to argue that American involvement in the NATO-led mission did not constitute “hostilities” as envisioned by the War Powers Act.

“If the Commander-in-Chief believes that intervention in Libya is important for our national security, he has a responsibility to make a case for it – clearly and publicly – and seek authorization,” Boehner said in a June 21 statement unveiling the bill. “In the three months since military action in Libya began, none of this has occurred. The American people deserve to have their voice heard in this debate, and Congress has a responsibility to hold the White House accountable.”

Rep. Mike Pence (R.-Ind.) (AP photo)

Representative Mike Pence (R-Ind.) – one of the 81 Republicans to flip-flop on the vote -- said that while neither bill was good, he would oppose cutting off funding out of loyalty to the troops involved.

“Today the House of Representatives was presented with two resolutions relating to the conflict in Libya,” Pence said in a statement.  “Neither resolution offered a good option, and the fault for that lies with the President of the United States.”

“Once American military personnel are engaged in hostilities, this Congress has an obligation to stand by our troops and do everything in our power to make sure our soldiers have the resources they need to get the job done and come home safe,” said Pence.

The Republicans who flip-flopped on the Libya votes are:

Rep. Sandy Adams (R-Fla.)

Rep. Justin Amash (R-Mich.)

Rep. Michele Bachmann (R-Minn.)

Rep. Roscoe Bartlett (R-Md.)

Rep. Judy Biggert (R-Il.)

Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.)

Rep. Mo Brooks (R-Ala.)

Rep. Paul Broun (R-Ga.)

Rep. Anne-Marie Buerkle (R-N.Y.)

Rep. Michael Burgess (R-Texas)

Rep. Dan Burton (R-Ind.)

Rep. John Campbell (R-Calif.)

Rep. Francisco Canseco (R-Texas)

Rep. John Carter (R-Texas)

Rep. Jason Chaffetz (R-Utah)

Rep. Tom Cole (R-Okla.)

Rep. Rick Crawford (R-Ark.)

Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-Fla.)

Rep. Robert Dold (R-Il.)

Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.)

Rep. John Duncan (R-Tenn.)

Rep. Renee Ellmers (R-N.C.)

Rep. Stephen Fincher (R-Tenn.)

Rep. Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.)

Rep. Trent Franks (R-Ariz.)

Rep. Cory Gardner (R-Colo.)

Rep. Scott Garrett (R-N.J.)

Rep. Paul Gosar (R-Ariz.)

Rep. Tom Graves (R-Ga.)

Rep. Tim Griffin (R-Ark.)

Rep. Frank Guinta (R-N.H.)

Rep. Richard Hanna (R-N.Y.)

Rep. Joe Heck (R-Nev.)

Rep. Tim Huelskamp (R-Kan.)

Rep. Randy Hultgren (R-Il.)

Rep. Darrell Issa (R-Calif.)

Rep. Timothy Johnson (R-Il.)

Rep. Sam Johnson (R-Texas)

Rep. Walter Jones (R-N.C.)

Rep. Raul Labrador (R-Idaho)

Rep. Leonard Lance (R-N.J.)

Rep. Jeffrey Landry (R-La.)

Rep. James Lankford (R-Okla.)

Rep. Steven LaTourette (R-Ohio)

Rep. Cynthis Lummis (R-Wyo.)

Rep. Donald Manzullo (R-Il.)

Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-Texas)

Rep. Tom McClintock (R-Calif.)

Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-N.C.)

Rep. Candice Miller (R-Mich.)

Rep. Mick Mulvaney (R-S.C.)

Rep. Devin Nugent (R-Calif.)

Rep. Ron Paul (R-Texas)

Rep. Erik Paulsen (R-Minn)

Rep. Steve Pearce (R-N.M.)

Rep. Mike Pence (R-Ind.)

Rep. Joe Pitts (R-Penn.)

Rep. Ted Poe (R-Texas)

Rep. Mike Pompeo (R-Kan.)

Rep. Bill Posey (R-Fla.)

Rep. Ben Quayle (R-Ariz.)

Rep. Dana Rohrbacher (R-Calif.)

Rep. Todd Rokita (R-Ind.)

Rep. Peter Roskam (R-Il.)

Rep. Dennis Ross (R-Fla.)

Rep. Ed Royce (R-Calif.)

Rep. Paul Ryan (R-Wisc.)

Rep. Aaron Schock (R-Il.)

Rep. Tim Scott (R-S.C.)

Rep. James Sensenbrenner (R-Wisc.)

Rep. Chris Smith (R-N.J.)

Rep. Steve Southerland (R-Fla.)

Rep. Cliff Stearns (R-Fla.)

Rep. Marlin Stutzman (R-Ind.)

Rep. John Sullivan (R-Okla.)

Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-Pa.)

Rep. Scott Tipton (R-Colo.)

Rep. Joe Walsh (R-Il.)

Rep. Lynn Westmoreland (R-Ga.)

MRC Store