Three Presidents Have Died on the Fourth of July – Two on the SAME DAY

Craig Bannister
By Craig Bannister | July 3, 2018 | 12:34 PM EDT

Three of the first five American presidents died on the Fourth of July, and one has since been born on the national holiday celebrating U.S independence.

Presidents John Adams and Thomas Jefferson both died on July 4, 1826, while President James Monroe died on the Fourth of July exactly five years later, notes:

Seven [presidents] have died in July, including Thomas Jefferson, the third President of the United States, and John Adams, the second. The day they both died on: July 4, 1826.

Exactly fifty years after the Declaration of Independence was signed, the two men, who were 83 (Jefferson) and 92 (Adams) respectively, both died of old age-related ailments. Supposedly, Adams’s last words were “Jefferson still survives.” Although this is a poignant epithet, particularly because the men fought for years and only reconciled in old age, Jefferson had, in fact, predeceased him by five full hours.

Five years later to the day, James Monroe died, on July 4, 1831.

Calvin Coolidge (#30, 1923-29) is the only U.S. president to have been born on the Fourth, according to

While the Fourth of July saw the death of three of the first five U.S. presidents—John Adams and Thomas Jefferson in 1826 and James Monroe in 1831—Calvin Coolidge was the only chief executive born on Independence Day.


Sponsored Links