New Mexico Concealed Handgun Carry Act Provisions
July 7, 2008 - 7:21 PM
(Editor's Note: The following are provisions of the New Mexico Concealed Handgun Carry Act.)
Under the provisions of the New Mexico Concealed Handgun Carry Act,
the New Mexico Department of Public Safety will be required to issue a Concealed Handgun License to any applicant if he or she:
is a citizen of the United States;
is a resident of New Mexico or is a member of the armed forces whose permanent duty station is located in New Mexico or is a dependent of such a member;
is 25 years of age or older (the original proposal said 21);
is not a fugitive from justice;
has not been convicted of a felony in New Mexico or any other state or pursuant to the laws of the United States or any other jurisdiction;
is not currently under indictment for a felony criminal offense in New Mexico or any other state or pursuant to the laws of the United States or any other jurisdiction;
is not otherwise prohibited by federal law or the law of any other jurisdiction from purchasing or possessing a firearm;
has not been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution;
is not addicted to alcohol or controlled substances; and
has satisfactorily completed a firearms training course approved by the department for the category or categories of handgun that the applicant wants to be licensed to carry as a concealed handgun.
Officials will be allowed to deny a permit to someone who meets these criteria for only four reasons, if the applicant has:
received a conditional discharge, a diversion or a deferment or has been convicted of, pled guilty to or entered a plea of nolo contendere [no contest] to a misdemeanor offense involving a crime of violence;
been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs within five years immediately preceding the application for a concealed handgun license;
been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving the possession or abuse of a controlled substance; or
been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving assault, battery or battery against a household member.
The fee for the license is limited to a maximum of $100.