Liberal Media Personalities 'Roasted' for Their Rants

By Susan Jones | July 7, 2008 | 8:06 PM EDT

( - Before a mostly conservative audience of 1,000 people in Washington Thursday night, the Media Research Center -- the parent organization of -- roasted the "most outrageously biased liberal reporters of 2006."

The MRC's 20th annual "Dishonors Awards" also presented Rush Limbaugh with the first annual "William F. Buckley Award for Media Excellence."

With the exception of Limbaugh's honor, the "awards" handed out at the Washington gala are facetious -- and the media figures who are "dishonored" at the event don't show up to accept the recognition that their liberal rants have inspired. Conservative stand-ins accept the awards for them.

The MRC's "God, I Hate America Award," presented by Neal Boortz, went to New York Times Publisher Arthur Sulzberger Jr.

In a May 21 graduation address, Sulzberger apologized to students at the State University of New York for the sorry state of America:

"You weren't supposed to be graduating into an America fighting a misbegotten war in a foreign land. You weren't supposed to be graduating into a world where we are still fighting for fundamental human rights, whether it's the rights of immigrants to start a new life, or the rights of gays to marry, or the rights of women to choose. You weren't supposed to be graduating into a world where oil still drove policy and environmentalists have to fight relentlessly for every gain. You weren't. But you are. And for that, I'm sorry."

Sulzberger also earned the "Quote of the Year," based on the loudest hoots and boos from the audience.

Accepting the "dishonor" for Arthur Sulzberger Jr was Michael Steele, the former Republican Lt. Gov. of Maryland

The "Dan Rather Memorial Award for the Stupidest Analysis," presented by Neal Boortz, went to Katie Couric for her September "60 Minutes" interview with Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice. Couric noted that Rice "rejects the notion that the U.S. is a bully, imposing its values on the world."

Rice responded, "What's wrong with assistance so that people can have their full and complete right to the very liberties and freedoms that we enjoy?" to which Couric replied, "To quote my daughter, 'Who made us the boss of them?'"

Accepting the dishonor for Katie Couric was G. Gordon Liddy

The "I'm Not a Political Genius But I Play One on TV Award," presented by Herman Cain, went to The View's Rosie O'Donnell for complaining, "As a result of the [9/11] attack and the killing of nearly 3,000 innocent people, we invaded two countries and killed innocent people in their countries." She then expressed the opinion that "radical Christianity is just as threatening as radical Islam in a country like America."

Accepting the award for Rosie O'Donnell was Pat Sajak

The "Tin Foil Hat Award for Crazy Conspiracy Theories," presented by Mary Matalin, went to CNN's Jack Cafferty, who suggested that the Bush administration might be coordinating with Osama bin Laden:

"The last time we got a tape from Osama bin Laden was right before the 2004 presidential election. Now here we are, four days away from hearings starting in Washington into the wiretapping of America's telephones without bothering to get a court order or a warrant, and up pops another tape from Osama bin Laden. Coincidence? Who knows."

Accepting for Jack Cafferty was "Osama bin Laden" -- by video, of course.

The "Puppy Love Award," also presented by Matalin, went to ABC News anchorman Charles Gibson, for his comments on Nancy Pelosi's election to Speaker of the House:

"For the first time in the 218-year history of the Congress, a woman was voted by her colleagues to be Speaker of the House. Nancy Pelosi, Democrat from California, took the gavel. But in a picture perhaps even more symbolic, the new Speaker was on the floor for a time, holding her 6-year-old [really 6-month-old] grandson, all the while giving directions on how events were to proceed. It seemed the ultimate in multitasking: Taking care of the children, and the country."

Accepting for Charles Gibson....Ward Connerly

A panel of 13 judges -- all leading observers of the liberal media in action -- chose the "dishonorees."

The judges include Tony Blankley, Washington Times editorial page editor and McLaughlin Group panelist; Neal Boortz, nationally syndicated radio talk show host; Steve Forbes, President and CEO of Forbes Inc.; John Fund, columnist for; Mark Levin, nationally syndicated radio talk show host; Rush Limbaugh, host of The Rush Limbaugh Show; Mary Matalin, Editor-in-Chief, Threshold Editions; Robert Novak, nationally syndicated columnist for the Chicago Sun-Times; Kate O'Beirne, Washington Editor of National Review; William A. Rusher, Distinguished Fellow at the Claremont Institute and Chairman of the Board of the Media Research Center; Cal Thomas, nationally syndicated columnist and a panelist on FNC's Fox Newswatch. Walter E. Williams, columnist and professor of economics at George Mason University; and Thomas S. Winter, Editor-in-Chief of Human Events.

Cal Thomas was master of ceremonies for the 20th annual dishonor awards.

For more on the gala, the "winners," and the runners-up, visit the Media Research Center website.

Make media inquiries or request an interview about this article.

Subscribe to the free daily E-Brief.

Send a Letter to the Editor about this article.