Johnson Sirleaf, Gbowee, Karman win Nobel Peace

By the Associated Press | October 7, 2011 | 5:10 AM EDT

OSLO, Norway (AP) — Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian activist Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman of Yemen have won the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee honored the three women "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work."